david hush

David Hush bottom

Sina Schiff
David with Zina Schiff



David Hush was born in Bristol, England. He was educated at Clifton College, the University of Sydney and Princeton University.

Hush has written works spanning solo instrumental, chamber ensemble, choral and orchestral idioms that have been performed, recorded and broadcast in North and South America, the UK, Europe, Australia and South Korea.

Hush has received fellowships and awards from, inter alia, Princeton University, the Hinrichsen Foundation, and the New Jersey State Council On the Arts. In addition, he has received the Ignaz Friedman Prize, was named the first recipient of the Schoenberg Award in 1984, and has received numerous awards from the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP).

Hush’s Sonata for Violin Solo was recorded by the American violinist Zina Schiff as the centrepiece of King David’s Lyre, the disc released in celebration of Jerusalem’s 3,000th anniversary.

He is currently composer in residence with the Orana Trio, who have recorded his music for broadcast and Internet streaming on ABC Classic FM.

Endorsing a non-elitist view of contemporary classical music, Hush is devoted to writing music that may be performed by young musicians at secondary and tertiary levels.

As a pianist Hush has transcribed and recorded two of Bach’s Solo Cello Suites. A video of his recording of the Fifth Suite (Prelude) was posted to YouTube in 2010. This transcription draws upon the autograph of Bach’s Lute Suite in addition to the solo cello score.

Hush’s Sonata, recorded by renowned authority on Australian piano music Jeanell Carrigan, was included as part of her CD, Narratives and Detours, released by the Australian Music Centre in 2012.

May 28 2013 witnessed a symbolic handshake between music and science in Australia with the world premieres of two works by Hush at the Australian Academy of Science. Celtic Runes and Largo were performed by Virginia Taylor (flute) and Kristen Sutcliffe (bassoon) from the ANU School of Music and were presented by Professor Suzanne Cory, AC, President of the Academy.